Marshall County Recorder
Registrar of Titles
Vital Statistic Registrar
208 E Colvin Ave, Suite 7
Warren MN 56762
MACO Mission Statement
The Recorders office provides the following services:
All real estate transaction are recorded at the Recorder’s Office.
Fees are as follows:
Record any document - $46.00
Multiple filing fee for satisfactions, partial releases and assignments - $10.00 per document listed after 4
Plat Filing - $56.00
Fees for Torrens documents are the same as above. Additional charges will be collected for multiple certificate entries, Residue Certificates, Exchange Certificates, CECT Plats, Amendments, etc.
Please call the Recorder’s Office for questions.
Examiner of Titles: David J. Meyers
For all deeds with a State Deed Tax over $1.65, you must disclose whether or not there is a well on the property. One of the following statements should be added to the deed:
- A well disclosure certificate accompanies this document.
- The seller certifies that the seller does not know of any wells on the described real property.
- I am familiar with the property described in this instrument, and I certify that the statutes and number of wells on the described real property has not changed since the last previously filed well disclosure certificate.
A $50 fee is required to file a well certificate. All wells must be disclosed regardless of the number of wells on the property.
The Recorder’s Office is a local Registrar of the Vital Records for Minnesota Department of Health.
For certified Birth and Death Certificates, an application proving tangible interest must be completed. Minnesota Statute, Section 144.225, subdivision 7.
Birth Certificate Application (DOC)
Birth Certificate Application (PDF)
Death Certificate Application (PDF)
- If applying by mail, you must complete the application, sign it before a notary and send it in with the proper fees (see below). If applying in person, please complete the application and show proof of identity.
Minnesota birth certificates from 1900 to present are available at any courthouse in Minnesota. For Minnesota births prior to 1900, please contact the county in which the person was born.
Fees for Birth Certificates:
*Certified copies - $26.00 for the first copy and $19.00 for each additional copy needed at the same time.
*Non-certified copies - $13.00
Minnesota death certificates from 1997 to present are available at any courthouse in Minnesota. For Minnesota deaths prior to 1997, please contact the county in which the person died.
Fees for Death Certifiates:
*Certified and non-certified copies - $13.00 for the first copy and $6.00 for each additional copy needed at the same time.
Certified Marriage Certificates:
If you purchased your marriage license from Marshall County and are looking to obtain a certified copy of the marriage certificate, you can make the request in writing or in person. We will need the couple's pre-marriage names and date of marriage.
Marriage Certificate Fees:
*Certified copies - $9.00 each
*Non-certified copies - $9.00 each
Couples can complete an on-line marriage application at the Recorder’s Office during normal business hours or by using your home computer or mobile device by completing the steps at the following site: https://moms.mn.gov/application/welcome
Completing the on-line application is the first step in applying for a marriage license. Both applicants must appear at the recorder’s office to finish applying for the marriage license and pay the appropriate fee(s). If you apply outside the office, all you need to do is provide your names and inform office staff that you applied on line, they can then access the portal and retrieve the application for further processing.
• Full License Fee - $115.00 - there are no REFUNDS.
• Reduced License Fee - $40.00. Subject to the following requirements:
- The applicants have received at least 12 hours of pre-marital counseling or education,
- The applicants have provided an "Educator's Statement" according to MS 517.08 Subd (1b) at the time the application is made (educational requirements and format of form are outlined in statute OR is available from the Recorder's Office).
If applicant(s) were previously married you will need to supply the following information:
- How previous marriage ended.
- Provide complete date (mm/dd/yyyy) of divorce or death or annulment.
- County and state of divorce or death.
- Type of court for divorce (i.e. District or Circuit)
- Previous married names are required for both of the parties if both have been divorced.
Upon receipt of your license, please be sure to read it carefully to check for any spelling errors of names, addresses, etc. There is a $20.00 re-issuance fee for this service. Changes requested after marriage might require a court order to change.
Applicants must be 18 years of age or older and not under guardianship or conservatorship. If applicants are between the ages of 16-18, custodial parent(s) must seek Judge’s approval for a minor to marry. There is a $20.00 fee for this service
A name change through the marriage process is a LEGAL CHANGE of name therefore make sure you identify the name you want after marriage.
The marriage license is valid for 6 months after issue.
In Marshall County the County Recorder is also the abstracter for the county. An Abstracter compiles all the records pertaining to a certain piece of property in an abbreviated form. This is called an Abstract. The Recorder creates new abstracts as well as continuing existing abstracts.
The Mashall County Recorder's office also provides Registered Property Abstracts, also known as Conditions of Registers.
Title Searches can also be obtained from the Marshall County Recorders's Office.