Marshall County, MN


Russ Steer
Marshall County Assessor
208 E Colvin Ave, Suite 13

Warren, MN 56762

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Phone: 218-745-5331

Fax: 218-745-4338

Appraiser: Dave Clark
Appraiser: Alison Grzadzieleski
Appraiser: Korina Woinarowicz
Appraiser: Ryan Larson
Appraiser: Alicia Spilde

2021 Local Boards of Appeal & Equalization Schedule

The Marshall County Assessor’s Office will begin its 2022 payable 2023 assessment starting July 2021. Minnesota Statute 273.08 requires that all properties must be viewed by a licensed assessor every five years. However, as a concern for the health and safety of all during the COVID-19 pandemic, we will not be attempting any interior inspections. Instead, postcards will be sent out to those property owners within the quintile with the date range in which an exterior inspection and an attempted phone call to the property owner will take place.

During the phone call, the Marshall County Assessor’s Office will be looking to verify current information as well as any changes to the property, such as new construction, buildings that have been removed, or changes in acres. Physical inspections of bare land properties, and the use of Surety, GIS, and Pictometry as tools to verify information, will continue to take place. Please contact our office with any questions you may have.

Department Description:

The Assessor's Office is responsible for the assessment of all real, personal and exempt property in Marshall County.

Assessments are made by appraisal staff from the Marshall County Assessor's office.  They review assessments on approximately 13,000 parcels of property located in 48 townships and 11 cities. It is their responsibility to estimate the market value for tax purposes and to classify property based on its principle use, such as residential, agricultural, seasonal or commercial. Other duties include determining which properties are subject to taxation and which qualify for homestead classification.

Values are established as of January 2 of each year.  The sale prices of properties that are sold are compared with their assessed values to determine whether the assessed values of the district meets state requirements. Notices are mailed to each property owner in the spring of each year advising the owner of the property value and classification and the process to appeal if the owner disagrees.

Properties which are occupied as a primary residence by the owner, or a qualified relative of the owner, may qualify for homestead. Property owners should contact the County Assessor's office and fill out a homestead application. Homestead is a property tax reduction intended to keep taxes lower on owner/qualified relative occupied homes.

Disabled and Blind property owners may apply to the County Assessor's Office for a reduction on their real estate taxes.

United States military veterans may be eligible for a market value exclusion on their homestead property if they have a service-connected disability of 70 percent or more.

Please contact the County Assessor's office for all necessary applications.

For more information on Minnesota Property tax, visit the Department of Revenue's website at